Charles Derome, Lawyer

Charles Derome is a member of the Barreau du Québec and the Canadian Bar Association, and has been practicing law for almost 30 years, focusing primarily on civil litigation and commercial law. In addition to his career as a practicing lawyer, he has been a civil law lecturer at Université de Montréal’s École Polytechnique for close to 10 years.

During his career, Mr. Derome has advised numerous companies and entrepreneurs with respect to complex commercial transactions, the sale and acquisition of companies, corporate reorganizations, bankruptcy and insolvency, regulatory compliance and contracts.

He has also represented a diversified clientele in all areas of civil law, including real estate, civil liability, estate law, insurance and family law. A talented litigator, Mr. Derome passionately defends the interests of his clients before the courts while consistently promoting the adoption of pragmatic and reasonable negotiated solutions in the case of disputes.

Charles Derome can provide you with an extensive range of solutions for all your problems related to civil law, from negotiation and drafting contractual agreements to preparing legal procedures and trials.

He has developed a considerable degree of expertise in real estate law, and is qualified to advise clients with respect to problems involving commercial leases, the sale and acquisition of real estate, mortgage financing, construction law, co-ownership law, hidden defects and neighbourhood disturbances.

By prioritizing a practical and personalized approach and promoting simple and effective solutions to the problems that affect his clients, Mr. Derome is a master at finding the ideal solution to suit your needs and your resources in order to resolve whatever disputes you may be facing. If you are looking for an experienced litigator and an expert jurist who has broad experience in civil and commercial law, Mr. Derome will be pleased to put his skills and knowledge at your service.

 

Sophie Mireault, lawyer

Since September 2014, Mtre Sophie Mireault collaborates with the law firm Derome avocats. She has been practising law for more than 25 years and specializes in the fields of labour relations in the construction industry, labour law and civil law.

She advises clients regarding the application of collective agreements and legislation governing labour and employment, such as the Act respecting labour relations, vocational training and workforce management in the construction industry, the Act respecting labour standards, the Labour Code (Quebec) and the Canada Labour Code. She also counsels building contractors regarding licences and compliance with the Building Act. Mtre Mireault is on the Canada Labour Code list of arbitrators.

Mtre Mireault was an administrative judge for 15 years, first as an Assistant Commissioner for the Commissaire de l’industrie de la construction, as a Commissioner and then as a Coordinator at the Commission des relations du travail, after having held various positions in government agencies (Commission de la construction du Québec, Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail and Commission des normes du travail).

She has conducted several training sessions on labour legislation, in particular the laws governing contractors and employees in the construction industry.

Drawing on her broad experience as a mediator, Mtre Mireault set up a conciliation department at the Commissaire de l’industrie de la construction (now the Commission des relations du travail). She has also gave a number of training sessions on conciliation. She was accredited as mediator for civil, commercial and labour matters by the Quebec Bar. She is also a family mediator.

By giving priority to alternative dispute resolution methods, Mtre Mireault can accommodate your needs and your means to resolve your disputes. If you are looking for an experienced lawyer in labour law in particular, Mtre Mireault will be pleased to put her knowledge and experience at your service.

Charles Derome, avocat

Me Charles Derome pratique le droit depuis près de 30 ans, principalement en litige civil et en droit commercial. En sus de sa carrière d’avocat praticien, Me Derome a été chargé de cours en droit durant près de 10 ans à l’École Polytechnique de l’Université de Montréal. Il est membre du Barreau du Québec et de l’Association du Barreau Canadien.

Au cours de sa carrière, Me Derome a conseillé de nombreuses sociétés et entrepreneurs dans le cadre de transactions commerciales complexes, de ventes et acquisitions d’entreprises, de réorganisations corporatives, de faillite et insolvabilité, de conformité réglementaire et de rédaction contractuelle.

Me Derome a de plus représenté une clientèle diversifiée dans tous les domaines du droit civil, notamment en droit immobilier, en responsabilité civile, en successions, en assurances et en droit familial. Plaideur de talent, Me Derome défend avec passion les intérêts de ses clients devant les tribunaux, et favorise en tout temps l’adoption de solutions pragmatiques, raisonnées et négociées aux litiges dans lesquels il est impliqué.

Me Derome peut vous offrir une gamme complète de solutions pour tous vos problèmes juridiques en droit civil, tant au niveau de la négociation et de la rédaction d’ententes contractuelles que de la préparation de procédures judiciaires et de procès.

Plus particulièrement, Me Derome a développé une très grande expertise en droit immobilier et est en mesure de vous conseiller relativement à tous vos problèmes en matière de baux commerciaux, vente et acquisitions immobilières, financement hypothécaire, droit de la construction, droit de la copropriété, vices cachés ou troubles de voisinage.

Privilégiant d’abord une approche pratique et personnalisée et la recherche de solutions simples et concrètes aux problèmes de ses clients, Me Derome saura s’adapter à vos besoins et à vos moyens dans la résolution des litiges dans lesquels vous êtes impliqués. Si vous recherchez les services d’un plaideur chevronné et d’un juriste de grande expérience en droit civil ou commercial, Me Derome se fera un plaisir de mettre ses habiletés et ses connaissances à votre service.

 

Sophie Mireault, avocate

Depuis septembre 2014, Me Sophie Mireault collabore avec le cabinet Derome Avocats. Elle pratique le droit depuis plus de 25 ans et elle se spécialise dans le domaine des relations du travail dans l’industrie de la construction, du droit du travail et du droit civil.

Elle conseille les clients relativement à l'application de lois régissant l'emploi tel que la Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d'œuvre dans l'industrie de la construction, la Loi sur les normes du travail, le Code du travail et le Code canadien du travail ou de conventions collectives. Elle conseille également les entrepreneurs de construction en matière de licence et de conformité à la Loi sur le bâtiment. Me Mireault est inscrite sur la liste des arbitres en relations du travail du Ministère des ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada.

Pendant quinze ans, elle a été juge administrative, d’abord comme commissaire adjointe au Commissaire de l’industrie de la construction, ensuite comme commissaire puis coordonnatrice à la Commission des relations du travail, après avoir occupé divers postes dans des organismes gouvernementaux (Commission de la construction du Québec, Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail, Commission des normes du travail).

Elle a donné plusieurs formations sur les lois du travail en particulier celles régissant les entrepreneurs et les salariés de l’industrie de la construction.

Médiatrice d’expérience, Me Mireault a mis en place un service de conciliation au bureau du Commissaire de l’industrie de la construction (maintenant la division de la construction et de la qualification professionnelle de la Commission des relations du travail). Elle a également donné plusieurs formations dans ce domaine. Elle est accréditée par le Barreau du Québec en matière civile, commerciale et du travail ainsi qu’à titre de médiatrice familiale.

Privilégiant les modes alternatifs de règlements des litiges, Me Mireault saura s’adapter à vos besoins dans la résolution de litiges. Si vous recherchez les services d’une juriste d’expérience particulièrement en droit du travail, Me Mireault se fera un plaisir de mettre ses expériences et ses connaissances à votre service.